Life Goes On – A Reflection

Standard

This has been a difficult year for my family. A beloved uncle died followed by the death of my husband’s mother. She would have been 95 in June and loved to sing, laugh and tell stories and jokes.

My mother-in-law, or Ma as  she was called by her children and me, was a true Southern lady. Originally from New Orleans, she moved with her husband and five children to Maryland in the 1960’s. Ma was a devout Catholic and always dressed for church; no pants for this Southern lady.  She was the glue that held her family together and there was nothing that she liked better than to cook a huge meal for her loved ones. I was introduced to Creole cooking at her table where she often served shrimp stew, red beans and rice, and stuffed baked mirlitons (milla-ton). For your birthday, she would always cook your favorite dishes and have a homemade cake for dessert.  Her family and her faith were the most important things in her life.  She is well-loved by family and friend and deeply missed.

ma1

I haven’t written a post for some time, as we have been dealing with all of the legal issues in settling an estate that arise when a family member dies. It can be tiring and draining at times, but writing about this amazing woman has brought a smile to my face.

Ma, I know you are in heaven with your Kermit. I’m sitting here with my Kermit and we both miss you and your “hello-ooos.”

Leave a Reply

