Healthy Eating and Guiltless Cookies

Standard

Much like many people, I have been making a conscious effort to improve the quality of foods that I am eating.  Sodas were the first to go! Yes, it was hard, but I started by cutting back until I would allow myself one a week as a treat. Now I honestly do not even want that. Best of all I notice a difference in how I feel.

Adding more fresh veggies and fruit was not a problem since I have always loved and eaten lots in this area. Now I just don’t buy anything processed (canned, frozen, pre-prepped).  I even started making my own bread so that I can control the ingredients.

This all sounds good, but I must admit that there is one area that is really, really, REALLY hard for me . . . sweets.  I would always keep some ginger snaps around to snack on. I’d grab two or three from the cookies jar a couple of time a day.  My husband would take five (or more) at a time.  We decided not to buy cookies anymore and I have been missing them.  Lately, I have been craving a cookie.

Okay, so where AM I going with this? A couple of weeks ago I saw a recipe on Facebook for a healthy cookie. I have seen it before, but never made them.  This time, I told myself, would be different. Well, it took a little while but I finally made them this morning! Not sure where the original recipe comes from, but this was version posted by PerezHilton.com.


3 ripe mashed bananas (I measured and had about 1 – 1/2 cups)

1/3 cup applesauce (I used unsweetened – otherwise you are defeating the purpose)

2 cups rolled oats (NOT 5 minute or instant)

1/4 cup almond milk

1/2 cup raisins (optional, but yummy and adds sweetness)

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp cinnamon

Basically, this is an easy one bowl recipe. You don’t even need to get out your mixer. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Peel and mash your bananas. I used the vintage potato masher that my mom gave me. Add the remaining ingredients in order, stirring after each addition. That’s it, easy peasy!

Using a medium scoop, place dollops onto a baking stone and lightly press down.  Bake 15 – 20 minutes, allow to cool for a few minutes before removing to cooling rack.

I only put about 8 cookies per sheet, because I was not sure how they would spread and the mixture is loose. I ended up with 2 dozen cookies (plus one that was sacrificed to the taste tester – me!) If you use metal sheets, I would recommend lining the sheets with parchment paper. Personally, I do not use cooking sprays or shortening. When necessary I will use butter (not margarine).

The results: a soft, moist, cake-like cookie with good flavor.

I took the cookies I made this morning to The Stitcher’s group at my church. We meet every Tuesday morning to work on any project that involves stitches – from crochet to quilts.  At first this group – with some very good cooks – was extremely skeptical of a sugarless, flourless, eggless, dairyless, fat free, cookie. However, one taste let to another and even to seconds and requests for the recipe.

The verdict: this is a keeper

Future modifications: add coconut, unsweetened cocoa, pecans

If you try this recipe, please let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

