Moms’ Afternoon Out

Standard

If you haven’t seen “Moms’ Night Out” yet – SEE IT!  It is a great movie with Patricia Heaton, Sean Astin, and Trace Adkins in a surprising role!  You can get the movie on DVD from Netflix and Redbox

Our day started with lunch at a nearby bakery cafe. It was a cold a rainy day (sounds like the start of Snoopy’s writing), and the weather called for something warm and hearty. There was a choice of a chicken and a beef stew on the menu. Since I eat a lot of chicken at home, I decided to go with the Moroccan Beef Stew served over brown rice. Yum!! Hearty and filling – couldn’t eat it all, but maybe I should have had less bread :-)!  My friends each had lovely fresh green salads.

Then it was on to the next part of our “Moms’ Afternoon Out” (I started to title this blog entry “Ladies Afternoon Out,” but figured that I still qualify as a mom to Pounce and Shadow).

Pounce

Pounce

The main feature of the day was held at the church my friend attends.  It was great! We chatted and nibbled on chocolate; then the movie started. I laughed, chuckled, and yes, even snorted as I watched this flick with two friends. This afternoon was over too soon, but we are planning on getting together soon for a crafting afternoon.

Shadow

Shadow

Once home, my yummy lunch led to a quest to find a recipe for the beef stew so I could make it at home. This search for Moroccan Beef Stew led to a recipe from Gourmet Magazine (the bakery cafe did not have the recipe available at their web site). I found the recipe on Epicurious and you can find the recipe here.  I’m always on the look-out for new dishes to try and have added this one to my recipe box!

Interested in planning you own movie afternoon? I would definitely recommend “Moms’ Night Out” (unless you don’t like to laugh)!

Leave a Reply

