Projects, Projects, Projects!

Standard

Since I am not teaching full time this year there are more hours available to spend and knitting and crocheting (YEA!). I’ve also re-added sewing into my repertoire and am currently exploring quilting.

Just finished three sets of basic curtains for the classrooms of some of teachers at the school where I used to teach. These were great projects to practice sewing and to get to learn my new Brother sewing machine (which I love, love, love). My next set of curtains will be a bit more involved and challenging. Learning and growing!

Yesterday, I picked up a hook and started chaining. My husband, seeing what I was doing asked, “Is that another new project?” Of course I had to admit that it was. This brings the total of active projects to five, which I feel is still a manageable number.  🙂  On my hooks are two scarves, a baby blanket, and one lap robe for CUMC’s Shawl Ministry.  Plus, I am knitting a third scarf.

Knit Mystery Scarf from Yarnspirations

Knit Mystery Scarf from Yarnspirations

Two of my scarves are a Caron’s Mystery Scarf, one knitted and one crochet.  I couldn’t wait to get started, which is one reason my list of active projects is growing. The knitted scarf started with a stitch that was new for me. The written directions AND Yarnspiration’s video tutorial made the stitch easy to understand and follow. Add one more stitch to my tool box!

Knit Mystery Scarf from Yarnspirations

Knit Mystery Scarf from Yarnspirations

This was the first week, so it is definitely not too late to start. Caron’s Mystery Scarf project is both fun and skill building. Interested in starting one?

Go to http://www.yarnspirations.com/kal-cal and check out the details! The suggested yarn, Caron United, helps to provide scholarships for the children of fallen patriots. You can purchase the yarn on-line at Caron, or do what I did and wait for a sale at a local craft shop.

Crochet Mystery Scarf from Yarnspirations

Crochet Mystery Scarf from Yarnspirations

Crochet Mystery Scarf from Yarnspirations

Crochet Mystery Scarf from Yarnspirations

Before the Mystery Scarf project started I had decided to begin work on the projects listed in the book Go Crochet! Skill Builder by Ellen Gormley.  So far I’ve completed the “Honeysuckle Beret” (see photo below) . . .

HB2

and have the “Pineapple Stolen Time Stole” on a hook. This book has written and charted instructions. I usually follow written instructions, but have found the charts very helpful for clarification. Best of all, I didn’t purchase any NEW yarn as I used what was already on hand in my stash (did I mention that I might have a yarn addiction).

Pineapple Stolen Time Scarf from Go Crochet! Skill Builder by Ellen Gormley

Pineapple Stolen Time Scarf from Go Crochet! Skill Builder by Ellen Gormley

Pineapple Stolen Time Scarf from Go Crochet! Skill Builder by Ellen Gormley

Pineapple Stolen Time Scarf from Go Crochet! Skill Builder by Ellen Gormley

My lap robe pattern is the “No Beginning Chain Granny Ripple Afghan” from stitcheryprojects.com and I’m using three color ways from my stash.

No Beginning Chain Granny Ripple Afghan pattern from stitcheryprojects.com

No Beginning Chain Granny Ripple Afghan pattern from stitcheryprojects.com

If you need help with the directions, there is a video tutorial to follow. It’s the first ripple afghan that I have ever attempted and so far it is coming along smoothly.

Last but not least is a baby blanket I’m making for a friend. I found a charming free “Granny Square Baby Blanket” pattern from daisycottagedesigns.net. Sometimes I follow a pattern exactly, and when I feel comfortable with the techniques and pattern I’ll make some changes. Because I want a larger blanket, I’ve changed the number rows for color repeats – a simple modification – and will add more rows.

Granny Square Baby Blanket pattern from daisycottagedesigns.nt

Granny Square Baby Blanket pattern from daisycottagedesigns.nt

Whew! Those are the yarn projects that I’m currently working one. When I finish one I am going to have to add one of my UFOs (unfinished objects). I think my sewing projects will need to be a separate blog post.

Happy crafting, happy life!

Leave a Reply

