Crochet Mania

Standard

Lately I’ve been busy with so many different crochet projects that I’m afraid my knitting needles are feeling neglected.

Included in the projects that I’ve completed over the summer is a colorful lap robe (made for our church’s Shawl Ministry) that used leftover skeins. For the squares I used the Dream Catcher pattern from stitch11.com.  To keep the joins open and airy like the squares, I used a rope stitch. To finish, I added a crochet edge that ended with picots.

 

Rosey Afghan made with Dream Catcher Squares from crochet11.com

Rosy Afghan made with Dream Catcher Squares from stitch11.com

 

I also tried my hand with crocheting twisted jute twine. No blisters but I did put some band-aides on my fingers for cushioning. This project was started using the Harvest Bowl pattern from the Lion Brand Yarn Design Team. As I worked up the bowl, I added some elongated stitches and slip stitches to create a gentle scallop edge.

It did not take long to finish the bowl, but boy were my fingers tired! I started the bowl with an acrylic hook, but switched to a sturdier wood one (in the same size of course).

My husband told me that I should block the bowl.  I’m not sure if you can block twine, but now I know he actually listens when I talk about projects. 🙂

IMG_2243

Twine bowl based on Lion Brand Harvest Bowl pattern

Interior view of twine bowl

Interior view of twine bowl

Can’t wait to add some mini-gourds for a rustic fall display.

Please let me know what you think. I’ll keep adding photos of the projects I’ve made. Some still need ends woven in before they are totally finished. With the Rosy Afghan I started weaving in ends as I go along so it is not such a huge chore at the end. It is a strategy that is working. Now I just need to catch up with some of the earlier projects. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Crochet Mania

  1. Eileen the Artful Crafter

    I love the dream catcher squares quilt. They’re so lacy. The bowl is very cool. I imagine nuts and pine cones in it. It definitely says “fall”.

    Like

Leave a Reply

